BCC History, Legal Structure & Team

The BCC was founded in 2010 and is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. As the Local Climbing Organization (LCO) for the Boulder area we are closely affiliated with the American Alpine Club and the Access Fund and we have a joint membership program with the Access Fund.

In the spring of 2014 the BCC launched the Front Range Climbing Stewards (FRCS) program in partnership with the Access Fund.  At the core of the FRCS is a 3-person full-time trail crew that builds and restores  climbing access trails in climbing areas all over the front range and other areas popular to Boulder climbers.

We work closely with area land managers, including Boulder County Parks and Open Space, Eldorado Canyon State Park, Jefferson County Open Space, City of Boulder Open Space and Mountain Parks, and the U.S. Forest Service, and we support the work of the Action Committee for Eldorado (ACE) and the Flatirons Climbing Council (FCC).

Our 15-member Board of Directors meets every other month, and meetings are open to the public (see below).

Mission Statement

The mission of the BCC is to mobilize the local community and partners to care for the environments we impact as climbers, and enrich the outdoor experience for all.

Boulder Climbing Community Official Documents

All documents are available to the public:

 Our Board of Directors

  • Kate Beezley
  • Kevin Capps
  • Evan Deis
  • Rui Ferreira – FCC Rep
  • Sarah Fountain
  • Loren Gwartney Morshead
  • Greg German – ACE Rep
  • Jason Grubb
  • Craig Hoffman – Wagbags Manager, Director of IT at the American Alpine Club
  • Jim Illg – President
  • Lenny Miller – Treasurer
  • Wade Morris – FHCC Rep
  • Josephine Sterr – Secretary
  • Anneliese Steel – Vice President, Access Fund Rep
  • Chris Weidner

Staff and Volunteer Leaders

  • Roger Briggs – Interim Executive Director
  • Bill Briggs – Financial Manager
  • JB Haab – FRCS Program Manager
  • Jason Haas – Bolt Replacement Manager
  • Craig Hoffman – Bags Manager
  • Elinor Asay – Grant Writer
  • Scott Rennak – Marketing Director
  • Ryan Cross – Marketing & Event Coordinator
  • Sarah Fountain – Social Media Coordinator
  • Owen Silver – Volunteer Coordinator
  • Sadie Sullivan – Legal Counsel
  • Ty Tyler – FRCS/AF Liaison
  • Aaron Mojica – FRCS
  • Daniel Dunn – FRCS
  • Ryan Kuehn – FRCS
  • Beth Liska – FRCS
  • Evan Andrews – FRCS

Board Meetings

  • First Wednesday night every two months
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, February 7 at REI Boulder (1789 28th Street)
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, April 4
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, June 6
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, August 1
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, October 3
  • 6:30 pm on Wednesday, December 5

Joining the Board

Contact us at:


Boulder Climbing Community
PO Box 17061
Boulder, CO 80308