BCC Founder: Roger Briggs

Roger on Incarnation-cropped.jpg

Roger Briggs is a legendary Colorado climber, educator and activist who founded the BCC to build a culture of stewardship and community among climbers, land managers, volunteers and supporters.

With groundbreaking first ascents on the Diamond of Longs Peak and in Eldorado Canyon, Roger is in a league of his own. Following a 30-year career as an acclaimed high school physics teacher, Roger continues to mentor and inspire. He developed educational programs in collaboration with NOAA and CU, and authored Journey to Civilization: The Science of How We Got Here, a science-lover’s compendium.

Through the BCC, Roger has led the climbing community to realize his vision of a more environmentally responsible and sustainable future.

Here’s a great profile and interview of Roger by our own Sarah Fountain.

Photo: Roger Briggs on Incarnation - Eldorado Canyon (5.12 c/d) by Cody Blair

FRCS Manager: JB Haab

JB Habb in Patagonia.JPG

JB Haab is an experienced wilderness educator, environmentalist and social impact leader. Under JB’s leadership, the Front Range Climbing Stewards has grown into the BCC’s largest stewardship program with a full-time, professional trail-building crew dedicated to mitigating climbers’ increasing impact through sustainable best practices. The FRCS has completed dozens of technical projects since 2014.

Prior to the BCC, JB developed educational and professional development programs for the Peace Corp in Guatemala and for Native American kids in Dominican Republic, Costa Rica and New Mexico.

JB is also a noted first ascensionist with Patagonia big walls and burly Ten Sleep sport climbs to his name.

Photo: JB Haab in Patagonia

BCC Board of Directors

  1. Kevin Capps - Board Member at Foothills Climbing Community

  2. Rui Ferrera - Board President at Flatirons Climbing Council

  3. Sarah Fountain - Social Media Coordinator

  4. Greg German - Board Vice Chair

  5. Jason Grubb

  6. Craig Hoffman - Wagbags Program Manager

  7. Bryan Hylenski

  8. Jim Illg - Board Chair and President

  9. Dara Miles

  10. Mike Schlauch - Board President at ACE (Action Committee for Eldorado Canyon)

  11. Owen Silver - Treasurer & FRCS Volunteer Coordinator

  12. Alex Stegall

  13. Josephine Sterr - Secretary

  14. Johann Zaroli

BCC Staff

  • Kate Beezley - Executive Director

  • Roger Briggs – Founder

  • JB Haab – FRCS Program Manager

  • Ryan Cross – Marketing & Events Director

  • Scott Rennak – Marketing Adviser

  • Anneliese Steel - Fundraising Adviser

  • Jason Haas – Bolt Replacement Manager

  • Ty Tyler – FRCS/AF Liaison

  • Ryan Kuehn – FRCS

  • Bill Briggs – Financial Manager